Board of Directors

They live in your neighborhoods, shop in your stores and—like you—receive monthly bills from CoServ. They are your CoServ Electric Board of Directors, democratically elected CoServ Members who oversee the operations of your cooperative and work collectively to represent the best interests of their fellow Members. Directors are not CoServ Electric Employees and are not part of the day-to-day business decisions. Each lives in one of the seven districts that make up CoServ's service territory, and each represents all CoServ Members.

If you have an issue with CoServ that you do not believe has been adequately resolved by CoServ Executives, you can email

Board District Map and Election

To ensure geographic representation, CoServ Electric's service territory is divided into seven districts. Board Directors are CoServ Members who are elected at-large by fellow Members. Because of this, they represent all CoServ Members, not just neighbors who reside in their district. Beginning with the District 1 and 5 elections in 2021, Board terms will transition to four-year terms from three-year terms. Every summer, CoServ Electric conducts its Annual Meeting for Members. Before the meeting, the cooperative is required under its bylaws to notify each Member (as of the record date) residing in a district where a Director’s term is expiring that a Director for that district is to be elected. Once a Board candidate is nominated, all Members, regardless of which district they reside in, can cast votes in the election. Read Article IV of CoServ Electric's Bylaws for more details.

  • Richard Muir

    District 1 Director
    Current term 2018–2021
    • CoServ Board Member since 2010 (former Board Member 1975–1982)
    • Lifetime Sanger and Krum area resident
    • Active in Sanger business community for 40 years
    • Bank director for more than 30 years
    • Owner of local insurance agency for more than 32 years
    • UNT graduate and LSU School of Banking graduate
    • Sunday school teacher at Sanger church for more than 30 years
  • Leon Pelzel

    District 2 Director
    Current term 2019–2022
    • Joined the Board in 2001
    • Lifetime Pilot Point resident
    • Owned and managed a farm business since 1974
    • American Red Cross Disaster Action Team volunteer
    • Active member of St. Thomas Aquinas Church
  • Chris McCraw

    Vice Chairman and District 3 Director
    Current term 2020–2023
    • Joined the Board in December 2015
    • Born and raised in McKinney
    • Owner, McCraw Properties, Inc. since 1998
    • Past experience includes real estate brokerage/investments and commercial development
    • Texas Christian University, BBA
  • Mark Rutledge

    District 4 Director
    Current term 2020–2023
    • Little Elm resident for 17 years
    • Co-founder and Owner/Partner of Momentum Mechanical
    • Little Elm Civilian Police Academy / Patrol
    • CEO of the Year 2020—Construction Financial Management Association (CFMA)
    • BSME, Mechanical Engineering, Prairie View A&M University (1985)
  • Trisha Sheffield

    Secretary/Treasurer and District 5 Director
    Current term 2018–2021
    • Joined the Board in 2018
    • 16-year CoServ Member
    • Lewisville ISD Education Foundation, Board Member
    • Past Lewisville ISD Board Trustee, President (3 years)
    • PediPlace, Board Member
    • BBA Marketing/Management from Texas A&M
    • Active member at Park Cities Baptist Church
    • Bible Study Fellowship (BSF) Group Leader
  • Bill Ragsdale

    Chairman and District 6 Director
    Current term 2020–2023
    • Joined the Board in 2010
    • Lifetime Denton County resident
    • President/Owner—manufacturing company since 1981
    • President/Owner—property management company since 1989
    • Liberty Christian Board of Trustees for seven years
    • Past Board President of Denton Country Club
    • Active member of Rock Pointe Church, Flower Mound
    • Chair of Power Committee at Brazos Electric
  • Curtis Tally

    District 7 Director
    Current term 2019–2022
    • Joined the Board in 1999
    • Electric Board Representative, CoServ Gas Board of Managers
    • Past Chairman of the Board, CoServ Electric
    • Lifetime Justin resident
    • Past Chairman of the Board, Justin State Bank
    • Meals on Wheels volunteer (18 years)
    • Established and managed Justin Seed Company for 39 years
    • Former President, Texas Seed Trade Association
    • Adult Sunday school teacher at First Baptist Church in Justin