Board of Directors

They live in your neighborhoods, shop in your stores and—like you—receive monthly bills from CoServ. They are your CoServ Electric Board of Directors, democratically elected CoServ Members who oversee the operations of your cooperative and work collectively to represent the best interests of their fellow Members. Directors are not CoServ Electric Employees and are not part of the day-to-day business decisions. Each lives in one of the seven districts that make up CoServ's service territory, and each represents all CoServ Members.

If you have an issue with CoServ that you do not believe has been adequately resolved by CoServ Executives, you can email [email protected].

Trisha Sheffield, District 5 Director
Trisha Sheffield, District 5 Director

Trisha Sheffield

District 5 Director
Current term 2021–2025

View Bio

Leon Pelzel, District 2 Director
Leon Pelzel, District 2 Director

Leon Pelzel

District 2 Director
Vice Chairman
Current term 2022–2026

View Bio

Chance Adair

District 7 Director
Current term 2022–2026

View Bio

Richard Muir

District 1 Director
Current term 2021–2025

View Bio

Chris McCraw, District 3 Director
Chris McCraw, District 3 Director

Chris McCraw

District 3 Director
Current term 2023–2027

View Bio

Will Kollar

District 4 Director
Current term 2023–2028

View Bio

Bill Ragsdale

District 6 Director
Current term 2023–2027

View Bio

Board District Map and Elections

The CoServ Electric service area is divided into seven districts. Each of the seven districts will have one Director to ensure equal geographic representation. However, each Director represents all CoServ Members.

Directors go through extensive training during their time on the Board in order to gain a deeper understanding of the electric industry and electric cooperatives. In 2021, CoServ made the decision to expand terms from three years to four years to better take advantage of the knowledge gained during their tenure. As a result, CoServ will not have a Board of Directors election in 2024. Starting in 2025, there will be two board seats up for election each year and every fourth year there will be one seat up for election.

Every year, CoServ Electric conducts an Annual Meeting for Members. Before the meeting, the cooperative is required under its bylaws to notify each Member (as of the record date) residing in a district where a Director’s term is expiring that a Director for that district is to be elected at the Annual Meeting. Once a candidate is nominated, all Members, no matter which district they reside in, can (and should) cast votes in the election. Read Article IV of CoServ Electric's Bylaws for more details.

Upcoming Meetings

  • December 14, 2023
  • January 18, 2024
  • February 22, 2024
  • March 21, 2024
  • April 18, 2024
  • May 23, 2024
  • June 20, 2024
  • July 25, 2024
  • August 15, 2024
  • September 19, 2024
  • October 17, 2024
  • November 21, 2024
  • December 19, 2024
Board Director Elections

2023 Elections: Districts 3, 4 and 6 -- View Elections Results

Board Candidate Process

Per CoServ Electric's bylaws, eligible CoServ Electric Members can apply to be candidates for election to the Board of Directors, vote in the Board of Directors election and watch the Annual Meeting, where the election results are announced. This year’s Annual Meeting will be broadcast on our website. Ballots are returned to and counted by election firm Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS).

District Notices

Every year, a notice is mailed to all Members that reside within the districts that are up for election. 2023's District Notice for Districts 3, 4 and 6 will mail in the March 2023 edition of Texas Co-op Power magazine and will be posted below.

Upcoming Elections

2023: Districts 3, 4 and 6
2025: Districts 1 and 5
2026: Districts 2 and 7

Board Term Lengths

Districts 3 and 6 will serve 2023–2027 and District 4 will serve 2023–2028.

2023 Election Timeline

January 16: Record date for District Notices. (If you became a CoServ Electric Member after this date, you will not receive a District Notice.)

February 24: District Notices are mailed in the March edition of Texas Co-op Power magazine to all CoServ Electric Members residing in Districts 3, 4 and 6—the Districts from which a Board Director seat is up for election this year.

March 3: First day Director petitions are made available.

March 15: Members interested in running must schedule an orientation session by 5 p.m. CST.

March 17: Members interested in running must attend an orientation session and receive a director petition packet by 5 p.m. CST.

March 24: Director nomination petition and other required forms are due to CoServ's corporate office by 5 p.m. CST and by appointment only.

April 3: Last day for Board candidates to withdraw in writing from the election.

April 17: Record date for the Annual Meeting Notice. All CoServ Members as of the official record date can vote.

May 11: Annual Meeting Notice and ballots mails to eligible CoServ Electric Members. Paper ballots will be mailed directly to the homes of Members by the third-party election firm Survey & Ballot Systems, and will
include a link to a secure web portal where Members may choose to cast their votes digitally.

June 1: Ballots must be received by Survey & Ballot Systems by 5 p.m. CST. Members may choose to vote online or mail their completed ballot to SBS using the provided prepaid envelope.

June 6: Annual Meeting | Election results announced.

Board Director FAQ
CoServ Member Forum
Voting FAQ