Members re-elect 2 to CoServ Electric Board; runoff election required in District 4


CORINTH, Texas — July 16, 2020 — A record number of CoServ Members voted in this year’s CoServ Electric Board of Directors election, resulting in the re-election of two incumbents and the need for a runoff election in a third race. The results were announced at CoServ’s 2020 Annual Meeting, which was conducted today from the electric cooperative’s headquarters without public attendance and streamed online because of COVID-19 precautions.

A total of 5,678 Members voted in the District 3 Director election. Incumbent Chris McCraw of McKinney, who ran unopposed, received 100 percent of the vote and will serve another three-year term.

A total of 6,316 Members voted in the District 6 Director election. Incumbent Bill Ragsdale of Flower Mound received 3,410 votes, and challenger LaNita Adams of Flower Mound received 2,906 votes. Because Mr. Ragsdale received a majority of the vote – 54 percent – he was declared the winner and will serve another three-year term.

A total of 6,595 Members voted in the District 4 Director election. Clint Bedsole of Frisco received 2,303 votes; Patrick Wamhoff of Frisco received 1,905 votes; Mark Rutledge of Little Elm received 1,344 votes; Richard Jones of Frisco received 548 votes; and John Genuise of Little Elm received 495 votes.

None of the District 4 candidates received more than 50 percent of the vote. Pursuant to CoServ’s Bylaws, a special meeting of the Members will be called for the purpose of conducting a runoff election between the candidates receiving the highest and next-highest number of votes. Mr. Bedsole and Mr. Wamhoff will be the candidates in the runoff election, the results of which will be announced at the special meeting on Thursday, September 24, 2020.

Election ballots were distributed in the July 2020 edition of Texas Co-op Power magazine that was mailed to more than 216,000 CoServ Members. Ballots were collected and tabulated, and the voting results were certified, by an independent Election Official, the law firm of Richards, Elder & Gibson, PLLC, of Lubbock, with assistance from the election firm Survey and Ballot Systems (SBS). CoServ Members will receive official runoff election ballots in the September edition of Texas Co-op Power

The CoServ Electric service area is divided into seven districts. Every year, the Board Directors representing two of these districts are up for election; every third year, three Board Directors are up for election. Election results are always announced at the Annual Meeting. While Directors must live in the district for which they run, they serve at-large, which means they are elected by – and serve – all Members, not just those in their district. For more details about the CoServ Electric Board of Directors, please click here. To view the 2020 CoServ Annual Meeting, please visit

CoServ is an electric and natural gas distribution company serving North Texas. Incorporated as Denton County Electric Cooperative in 1937, CoServ Electric is one of the largest electric cooperatives in the country, serving more than 250,000 electric meters across Denton, Collin and four other North Texas counties. CoServ Gas was established in 1998 and serves more than 130,000 gas meters in Denton, Collin and Kaufman counties. CoServ’s mission is to deliver excellent service to our Members and Customers by providing safe and reliable energy solutions.  


Featured Story